Plagiarism

Twitter7f7fd43_jpgBirds of a Feather 3

It appears that I have been a victim of plagiarism…

This website is using my painting on t-shirts.

I’m flattered, I really am. Firstly that someone think my painting is good enough to print on a t-shirt and secondly that someone recognised my work and let me know! 🙂

But I was not asked for permission. The website says the image is theirs. And they’re making $35 a t-shirt on this. The original painting is still in my bloody display folder at home. So I’m annoyed.

If anyone has any advice or information that could help me sort this out, I would really appreciate it.

3 thoughts on “Plagiarism

  1. Hi Samantha, sorry to hear you’re a victim of plagiarism. Seems to be rife on the internet now. Easy bucks for some. I had a divination card deck design stolen by someone and posted up for sale on their site just last month. What a palaver! The cheek of some people, making money out of other people’s effort and time!

    Send this person a “Cease and desist” type of letter in the first place. You’ll find lots of examples online. Threaten them with legal action for copyright infringement and theft of intellectual property. Tell them your lawyer will be in touch with them next, if they don’t remove your image from their site.

    If this person is posting on a regulated site, alert the administrators of the site so they freeze this person’s account while investigating it.

    Keep us updated on how you get on. I hope you get a satisfactory outcome from it. (((HUGS)))

Leave a comment